Kevin Hurst

Kevin Hurst performs on Wurlitzer clarinets for the dark, mellow, rich woody qualities they offer – the consistency of homogeneous tones through the registers and the beautiful ring which is in the very best German tradition. He uses very long, close-facing Wurlitzer M3 mouthpieces in combination with very thick, heavy reeds by a German manufacturer.

Kevin, resident in Budleigh Salterton since 2001, has had his clarinet playing described by the International Clarinet Association Journal as possessing a ‘beautiful tone & technical authority’. Sir James Galway, doyen of the flute, knocked him for six with the comment ‘I listened to the recording of your concert all day.’ If Kevin has one greatest love on clarinet it’s to make a warm, compact, dark, rich, full, ringing, effortless sound – the kind of sound that attracted him to learning concertos by ear when he took it up aged 10, through hearing radio broadcasts and listening obsessively to tape recordings of the principal clarinettist of the LSO with his rich, distinctive sound – Jack Brymer.

But he was equally struck by the brilliant, ringing, homogeneous playing of the incredible Karl Leister of Germany who has a beautifully consistent, round yet compact, very warm tone that Kevin simply didn’t get to hear in England until he discovered Alan Hacker whose similar clarinet timbre to the German school of playing inspired him to go to the University of York where Alan was a lecturer in the music department, so he could get to experience this. Alan proved to be very, very kind. His musical effect was stunning. His playing ability astonishing. He was a great musician.

And so began a life-long obsession to find a way to express music incorporating the best strengths of all top styles and schools of clarinet playing – a practically impossible task!

Kevin is humbled to have his name appearing on this Wurlitzer clarinets website’s artists section alongside some very illustrious names, including principal clarinettists of the Berlin Philharmonic, one of whom Kevin has been fortunate enough to meet and play duets with in a consultation which inspired him to keep exploring.

Kevin has a degree in music from the University of York and completed a one year post-graduate course at the RNCM where he studied advanced performance funded by a Countess of Munster Scholarship. (The audition panel was chaired by Jack Brymer.)

His solo recital playing has taken him around much of the UK, and as far afield as Canada, with various artists accompanying him on piano, such as well-established players Nigel Clayton, John Lenehan, Evelina Puzaite, Karen Evans, Luis Pares and – presently – Jonathan Delbridge FRSM.

Kevin teaches the piano at Queen’s College, Taunton, and teaches advanced pupils on piano and clarinet privately, including working with Royal Marines band players. He has also worked as a civil servant, computer programmer, tennis and chess coach. He is currently doing a maths degree with the Open University, and enjoys playing tennis.

Kevin Hurst C.2021.

Kevin Hurst

Kevin Hurst spielt auf Wurlitzer-Klarinetten wegen der dunklen, weichen, reichhaltigen Holznoten, die sie bieten – die Konsistenz der homogenen Töne durch die Register und der schöne Klang, der in bester deutscher Tradition steht. Er verwendet sehr lange, eng anliegende Wurlitzer M3 Mundstücke in Kombination mit sehr dicken, schweren Blättern eines deutschen Herstellers.

Kevin, der seit 2001 in Budleigh Salterton wohnt, hat sein Klarinettenspiel vom International Clarinet Association Journal als „schönen Ton und technische Autorität“ beschreiben lassen. Sir James Galway, der Doyen der Flöte, hat ihn mit der Bemerkung ‚Ich habe mir die Aufnahme Ihres Konzerts den ganzen Tag angehört‘ umgehauen. Wenn Kevin eine große Liebe auf der Klarinette hat, dann ist es ein warmer, kompakter, dunkler, reicher, voller, klingender, müheloser Klang – die Art von Klang, die ihn dazu brachte, Konzerte nach Gehör zu lernen, als er im Alter von 10 Jahren damit anfing, durch das Hören von Radiosendungen und das obsessive Anhören von Tonbandaufnahmen des Soloklarinettisten des LSO mit seinem reichen, unverwechselbaren Klang – Jack Brymer.

Aber er war ebenso beeindruckt von dem brillanten, klingenden, homogenen Spiel des unglaublichen Karl Leister aus Deutschland, der einen wunderbar konsistenten, runden und doch kompakten, sehr warmen Ton hat, den Kevin in England einfach nicht zu hören bekam, bis er Alan Hacker entdeckte, dessen ähnliches Klarinetten-Timbre der deutschen Spielschule ihn dazu inspirierte, an die Universität von York zu gehen, wo Alan Dozent in der Musikabteilung war, damit er dies erleben konnte. Alan erwies sich als sehr, sehr freundlich. Seine musikalische Wirkung war umwerfend. Sein spielerisches Können erstaunlich. Er war ein großartiger Musiker.

Und so begann eine lebenslange Besessenheit, einen Weg zu finden, Musik auszudrücken, der die besten Stärken aller Top-Stile und Schulen des Klarinettenspiels beinhaltet – eine praktisch unmögliche Aufgabe!

Kevin fühlt sich geehrt, dass sein Name im Künstlerbereich dieser Wurlitzer-Klarinetten-Website neben einigen sehr illustren Namen auftaucht, einschließlich der Solo-Klarinettisten der Berliner Philharmoniker, von denen Kevin das Glück hatte, einen zu treffen und mit ihm Duette zu spielen, was ihn dazu inspirierte, weiter zu forschen.

Kevin hat einen Abschluss in Musik von der University of York und absolvierte ein einjähriges Postgraduiertenstudium am RNCM, wo er mit einem Countess of Munster-Stipendium fortgeschrittene Performance studierte. (Die Prüfungskommission wurde von Jack Brymer geleitet.)

Seine Solokonzerte führten ihn durch weite Teile Großbritanniens und sogar bis nach Kanada, wobei er von verschiedenen Künstlern am Klavier begleitet wurde, wie z.B. den etablierten Musikern Nigel Clayton, John Lenehan, Evelina Puzaite, Karen Evans, Luis Pares und – derzeit – Jonathan Delbridge FRSM.

Kevin unterrichtet Klavier am Queen’s College, Taunton, und unterrichtet privat fortgeschrittene Schüler auf Klavier und Klarinette, wobei er auch mit Spielern der Royal Marines Band arbeitet. Er hat auch als Beamter, Computerprogrammierer, Tennis- und Schachtrainer gearbeitet. Derzeit absolviert er ein Mathematikstudium an der Open University und spielt gerne Tennis.

Kevin Hurst C.2021.